VERY SMALL VOLUME METER BY KRACHT

NOMINATED FOR BEST-OF-INDUSTRY AWARD

PRECISION LIKE A SWISS CLOCKWORK

The world’s smallest gear type flow meter accurately measures volume flows from 0.3 ml/min – which is as little as 3 to 5 drops per minute. The VC 0.01 is easily capable of measuring very small volumes and micro-doses of media with viscosities from 0.8 mm²/s.

GEAR TYPE FLOW METER VC 0.01

As a medium-sized fluid measuring technology specialists, KRACHT managed to design a very small volume meter capable of measuring volume flows from 0.3 ml/min, which is as little as 3 to 5 drops per minute, to very high levels of precision. The groundbreaking measuring apparatus can manage media with as low viscosity as water (1 mm²/s = water): handling fluids from 0,8 mm²/s without problem, it ensures that injectors equipped cutting-edge injection technologies can be measured and tested in test beds to high levels of precision.

To realise this development objective, the experts in KRACHT elected to work with extremely corrosion-proof stainless steel as material and subjected all functionally relevant components to a full rework. The newly designed gear geometry guarantees optimal rolling-off behaviour to minimise friction of the measuring element under load. The instrument uses special, ultra high precision ball bearings to fulfil the strict requirements on leak tightness and ease of movement of the measuring element. The specially developed sensor elements allow for the detection of the required frequencies while keeping the constructed size compact and the scanning process frictionless.

Component production and assembly pushing the envelope

KRACHT really did push the envelope of what’s technically feasible when it comes to the production and assembly of the flow meter. The manufacturing process relies on special production machines which are exclusively used for this specific product. In addition, a statistical process control (SPC) process was adopted to ensure micrometre precision and stable conditions throughout production. What is more, component production and assembly is air-conditioned and thoroughly monitored. Also, since even the tiniest particles can have a negative effect on the assembly of the high precision measuring devices, a sophisticated concept to ensure component cleanliness and specifically for assembly workplaces was developed. This has allowed the manufacturer to achieve a maximum of component cleanliness as well as ideal assembly conditions. Amongst other things, the concept relies on a special ultrasound cleaning system custom designed for the new flow meter.

Assembly of the world’s smallest gear type flow meter takes place in purpose-made workplaces in a clean air environment using superfine air filters. This helps compensate even the smallest tolerance variations in the micrometre range, thanks to specific calibration processes and stable climatic conditions. The process is documented and subjected to a continuous statistical analysis to realise even more potentials for optimisation. In the next step, every single unit is put to a final inspection and is calibrated on a high-precision calibration stand designed for small flow rates and low viscosities, and the results are recorded in a digital calibration log. This is to make sure that every unit which leaves the factory meets the demanding application requirements, and that this can be proved.

To sum up, KRACHT’s very small volume meter not only helped bring down the lower limit for gear type flow meter-based fluid measurements, the new system also makes test beds future-proof because it allows injectors with cutting-edge injection technologies to be tested.

TECHNICAL DATA

Lower measuring limit: 0.3 ml/min
Minimum viscosity: 0.8 mm²/s

APPLICATIONS

> For fuel injector testing benches
> For monitoring of microdosing processes in the
pharmaceutical and cosmetics industry as well as
in the chemical and petrochemical industry

Production

vc001-slider-6
vc001-slider-8
previous arrow
next arrow
> Special-purpose production machinery
> Extremely corrosion-proof stainless steel
> All functionally relevant parts are optimised
> New gear geometry
> Minimised friction inside the measuring element
> Special, ultra high-precision ball bearings
> High-resolution sensors

Assembly

vc001-slider-4
vc001-slider-7
vc001-slider-5
previous arrow
next arrow
> Air-conditioned component production and assembly
> Ultrasound cleaning system
> Special calibration processes to compensate even the smallest tolerance variations

Calibration

vc001-slider-1
vc001-slider-2
vc001-slider-3
previous arrow
next arrow
> Special high-precision calibration stand
> Detailed recording and statistical analysis

Best of Industry Award 2022

Want to know more?

KRACHT-KLEINSTMENGENZÄHLER FÜR DEN

BEST-OF-INDUSTRY-AWARD NOMINIERT

Präzise wie ein Schweizer Uhrwerk

Der kleinste Zahnrad-Durchflussmesser der Welt misst zuverlässig Volumenströme ab 0,3 ml/min – das sind lediglich 3 bis 5 Tropfen in der Minute. Der VC 0,01 ist in den Bereichen Kleinstmengenmessung und Mikrodosierung bei Medien mit Viskositäten ab 0,8 mm²/s problemlos einsetzbar.

Zahnrad-Durchflussmesser VC 0,01

Dem mittelständischen Experten für Fluidmesstechnologie KRACHT ist es gelungen, einen Kleinstmengenzähler zu entwickeln, der eine hochpräzise Bestimmung von Volumenströmen ab 0,3 ml/min – das sind lediglich 3 … 5 Tropfen in der Minute – ermöglicht. Das völlig neu entwickelte Messinstrument eignet sich selbst für Medien mit geringerer Viskosität als Wasser (1 mm²/s = Wasser): Er kommt problemlos mit Fluiden ab 0,8 mm²/s zurecht und stellt somit sicher, dass beispielsweise Injektoren mit modernsten Einspritztechnologien hochpräzise auf dem Prüfstand gemessen und getestet werden können.

Um dieses Entwicklungsziel zu realisieren, wählten die Experten von KRACHT extrem korrosionsbeständigen Edelstahl als Material und überarbeiteten sämtliche funktionsrelevanten Bauteile grundlegend. Die neu generierte Zahnradgeometrie garantiert ein optimales Abwälzverhalten, welches die Reibung des Messwerkes unter Last auf ein Minimum reduziert. Es werden spezielle Kugellager mit höchster Genauigkeitsklasse verwendet, so dass die strengen Anforderungen an Dichtheit sowie Leichtgängigkeit des Messwerkes erfüllt werden konnten. Das speziell entwickelte Sensorelement ermöglicht die Detektion der geforderten Frequenzen bei gleichzeitig kompaktem Bauraum und unter völlig reibungsloser Abtastung.

Bauteilproduktion und Montage an der Grenze des Machbaren

Bei der Fertigung und Montage des Durchflussmessers ging KRACHT an die Grenzen des technisch Möglichen. In der Herstellung werden spezielle Fertigungsmaschinen verwendet, die ausschließlich für dieses Produkt im Einsatz sind. Auch eine statistische Prozesslenkung (SPC) wurde implementiert, um eine µm-genaue Fertigung unter stabilen Bedingungen zu gewährleisten. Zudem werden Bauteilproduktion und Montage klimatisiert sowie genauestens überwacht. Da schon kleinste Partikel die Montage der hochpräzisen Messgeräte negativ beeinflussen können, wurde außerdem ein ausgefeiltes Konzept für die Bauteilsauberkeit und insbesondere die Montagearbeitsplätze ausgearbeitet. Dadurch erreicht der Hersteller die höchstmögliche Reinheit der Komponenten sowie optimale Montagebedingungen. Das Konzept umfasst beispielsweise eine spezielle Ultraschall-Reinigungsanlage, die ausschließlich für den neuen Durchflussmesser weiterentwickelt wurde.

Die Montage des kleinsten Zahnrad-Durchflussmessers der Welt erfolgt an speziellen Arbeitsplätzen in einer Reinluftumgebung unter Verwendung von hochfeinen Luftfiltern. Dabei werden selbst minimalste Toleranzschwankungen im Micrometer-Bereich durch spezielle Einmessvorgänge unter stabilen klimatischen Bedingungen kompensiert. Um weitere Optimierungspotenziale zu erkennen, wird der Vorgang protokolliert und kontinuierlich statistisch analysiert. Auf einem hochpräzisen Kalibrierprüfstand für kleine Durchflussraten und niedrige Viskositäten findet anschließend eine finale Überprüfung und Kalibrierung jedes einzelnen Gerätes statt. Dabei wird auch ein digitales Kalibrierprotokoll generiert. Auf diese Weise stellt KRACHT sicher, dass jedes Modell, welches das Werk verlässt, nachweisbar den hohen Anwendungsanforderungen entspricht.

Mit dem Kleinstmengenmesser von KRACHT konnte somit nicht nur das untere Limit für die Messung von Fluiden mittels Zahnrad-Durchflussmessern drastisch gesenkt werden. Das neue Gerät macht zudem Prüfstände zukunftsfähig, indem es den Test von Injektoren mit modernsten Einspritztechnologien erlaubt.

Technische Daten

Min. Messbereich: 0,3 ml/min
Min. Viskosität: 0,8 mm²/s

Anwendungen

> Für Prüfstände zum Testen von Kraftstoffinjektoren
> Für die Überwachung von Mikrodosiervorgängen in der
Pharma- und Kosmetikindustrie sowie der chemischen und
petrochemischen Industrie

Fertigung

vc001-slider-6
vc001-slider-8
previous arrow
next arrow

> Spezielle Fertigungsmaschinen
> Extrem korrosionsbeständiger Edelstahl
> Optimierung aller funktionsrelevanten Bauteile
> Neue Zahngeometrie
> Minimierte Reibung innerhalb des Messwerks
> Spezielle Kugellager mit höchster Genauigkeitsklasse
> Hochauflösende Sensorik

Montage

vc001-slider-4
vc001-slider-7
vc001-slider-5
previous arrow
next arrow
> Klimatisierte Bauteilproduktion und Montage
> Ultraschall-Reinigungsanlage
> Spezielle Einmessvorgänge kompensieren minimalste Toleranzschwankungen

Kalibrierung

vc001-slider-1
vc001-slider-2
vc001-slider-3
previous arrow
next arrow
> Spezieller hochpräziser Kalibrierprüfstand
> Detaillierte Protokollierung und statistische Erfassung

Best of Industry Award 2022

Sie wollen mehr erfahren?